The 2016-17 Adams Academy members with Pauline Adams and Patti Stewart


The Adams Academy is named in honor of former MSU President Walter Adams and his wife and MSU faculty member emerita, Pauline Adams, in recognition of their sustained commitments to promote instructional excellence. The program brings together a cross-disciplinary group of faculty and academic staff for a year-long fellowship focused on teaching and learning. Adams Academy Fellows explore the literature on effective university teaching and learning practices and consider how this robust body of research can be used to guide instructional decisions in the courses they teach. Participants learn from and contribute to a community of teacher-scholars committed to excellence in teaching and learning.


All tenure-system faculty, fixed-term faculty and academic staff with three years or more of experience teaching at MSU are encouraged to apply.  A stipend will be given to each fellow for professional development activities.

The Adams Academy meets monthly throughout the academic year.

The application deadline is in April of each year, and notifications will be issued in May.


During 2016, the Academic Advancement Network undertook explorations to re-envision both the Lilly and Adams Fellowships offered for many years through the Office of Faculty and Organizational Development.  The exploratory conversations included a number of campus stakeholders, including former Lilly and Adams fellows. In our conversations, we learned that both programs are valuable to the campus community, an outcome consistent with past program evaluations. We also identified opportunities to strengthen each program for individual participants and for the larger campus culture with regard to learning and teaching. In 2017-18, both programs became available to all academics who have significant teaching responsibilities, regardless of appointment type.

2018-19 Adams Academy Call and Application

Call and Application Form

The following documents must be submitted for consideration. Deadline is April 30, 2018. Please submit your completed application packet to the AAN office: Attn: Patti Stewart, Academic Advancement Network, 426 Auditorium Road, Room 308, East Lansing, MI 48824.

1. Completed application sheet (at bottom of this)
2. Two letters of support.
a. The primary letter must be from the applicant’s primary chair, director, or dean.
b. The additional letter of support may come from an MSU faculty member, student, academic staff member, or administrator.
3. A Personal Statement clarifying why you wish to participate in the Adams Academy at this time and how participation will benefit you and/or your unit. The Personal Statement should be no more than one page (approximately 250-300 words).
4. A current curriculum vitae.
5. A list of courses taught at MSU detailing size and type (graduate, undergraduate major, non-major) as well as annual course load and advising responsibilities.